Successfully updated one machine to 10.8.1. In order to move the installer to my second machine, I connected my three-partition drive to the second machine. My backup partition on that drive is encrypted. I entered the password (I know, I know, not necessary since I don’t need that partition, but what could go wrong, right?)
UPDATE: Return the drive back to the original machine. Immediately, all sorts of errors in backup. No disk space, it says. Looking at the backup disk, I see that all the backup folders are now moved under the second machine’s name.
Fearing that the backups are corrupted (exactly when you might need them), I decide to erase the encrypted backup disk and start again. Erase fails, with no option to erase that partition again. No option to unencrypt either. So I am looking at moving 1 TB of data out of there and erasing the entire drive. Been there done that and it sucks.
Mental note to self, do not use encryption, definitely half-baked. If encrypted, unencrypt before erase or repartition.
But more interestingly, both machines have backup drives with the same name, ‘backup’. So when I connected the external drive to the second machine, there already was a backup drive attached there with the same name. All of this shouldn’t have mattered, as Apple is using Universal Unique Identifier (UUI), right? Well, that’s what I thought.
©2012 EthnoSync.com. All Rights Reserved.
